The South Will Rock Again

My favorite reissue of the year despite the hype around the Beach Boys Smile Sessions has to be ‘Delta Swamp Rock’ from the ever-reliable Soul Jazz records

I’ve seen it described in The Guardian as an ‘impeccable’ selection of 70’s southern rock and I have to agree. If anyone told me I’d be enjoying an album that had tracks by The Allman Brothers and Lynyrd Skynyrd I would have chinned them on the spot but the truth is I am. As well as songs by Boz Scaggs and Cher to boot.

 Some of the highlights include tunes by the wonderful, and previously unknown to me, Bobbi Gentry and a cover version ‘If I Was a carpenter’ by Johnny Cash.

It’s enough to make you want to grow a beard and eat grits.


Leave a Reply

