Lucky Lartigue

“It’s marvelous, marvelous! Nothing will ever be as much fun. I’m going to photograph everything, everything!” Jacques Henri Lartigue.


The first photography book I ever brought featured the images of Jacques Henri Lartigue.

It was an impulse buy but it was one that I still love to this day.

So much appealed to me about it.

The humor evident in many of the pictures, the tremendous sense of fun that everyone seemed to be having, the gorgeous women and of course the sickeningly luxurious lifestyle depicted.

In fact, if I’m ever asked which photographer I would most like to have been I would unhesitatingly say Jacques Henri Lartigue. Other photographers may have been more celebrated but no one seems to be enjoying themselves as much as him.

Leave a Reply

