The $1000 Wave

I’m a big fan of Australian photographer Trent Parke’s work. In particular the images from his book ‘The Seventh Wave’. It’s a book I would love to own but according to Amazon marketplace to do this would mean me parting with over $1000 dollars.

Now I like his work but a $1000 dollars??? I had set my heart on eating this month. So somehow I don’t think I’ll be seeing Mr. Parke’s opus in my collection.

It’s something I’ve noticed about photography books generally. Even if they’re really good, they’re printed in small runs and once that run is over that’s it.

The result is that just a few years after the initial publication many of the better works are rare to find and very expensive to buy.

The Lesson. Buy immediately. Or face the financial consequences later.

Anyway here are a few of the images from that now exorbitantly priced book Trent Parke book for those that don’t have a $1000 just lying around…

 

 

 

 

 

 


Leave a Reply

