Brazilian Space Soul or Tim Maia the Funky Alien.

timmaiaphotoDid you know that love is really the answer? Or that people need to be free? If by some remote possibility you didn’t listen to some Tim Maia. He’ll very soon set you straight.

Tim may not be the most profound pop star who ever lived but this funky, soulful 1970’s Brazilian makes up for it with some tight grooves and a quite wild hairstyle.

Many of you may have been ignorant of his existence before this post but I am here to spread the word about the Afro headed one.

World Psychedelic Classics Volume 4 have recently issued a collection of his more accessible tracks and it’s a great primer for fans of Brazilian music and seventies soul and funk.

nobody-can-live-forever-tim-maia

I’m not sure of why he is considered psychedelic apart from his strange assertion that human beings are really aliens from another world, which suggests at the very least some heavy, heavy drug intake and at worst a high degree of madness.

Then again a similar belief didn’t stop Mitt Romney running for President.

Maybe if he’d been as funky and far out as Tim Maia he would have won.

Anyway I include a link to tracks from the album, as well as a link to the Amazon page which will allow Tim Maia to quietly blow your minds.

http://www.amazon.com/World-Psychedelic-Classics-Nobody-Live/dp/B00133KEF4/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1358090213&sr=8-1&keywords=tim+maia

<p><a href=”http://vimeo.com/41878872″>An Introduction to Tim Maia</a> from <a href=”http://vimeo.com/luakabop”>Luaka Bop</a> on <a href=”http://vimeo.com”>Vimeo</a&gt;.</p>

2 thoughts

  1. Dude. I came across this post on your tumblr a few days ago (no stalker) and I just wanted to say thanks for exposing me to this. I downloaded the collection (and I even did it the completely legal/non-free way!) and have been listening to it nonstop. Today’s favorite song: Brother Father Sister and Mother. Anyway/also when I was reading about him and his music not ‘making it big’ in the States I was reminded of another artist, Rodriguez, who I found out about a few years ago/saw the documentary about last year…and I see you recently did a post on that, too. Great minds! Great music taste! Keep it coming!

    • Thanks dude! Clearly you’re a man of great taste 🙂 I’ll do my best to keep up the good work and dig out a few more gems. ‘Brother, father, sister mother’ is a great track and I’ve had it bouncing around inside my brain for a couple of weeks now.

Leave a Reply

