James Blake at Radio City Music Hall

maxresdefault

My enthusiasm for live shows is waning as I become increasingly more jaded. These young people with their strange ideas! It wouldn’t past muster in my day.

Yet as I pass complainingly into old gitdom I can still appreciate the odd modern conception of music.

Like James Blake. Yes, he may have a rather plaintive, whiny tone at times but he also has some of the most interesting arrangements and songs around. The way I look at him is a kind of twisted version of a blue-eyed souls singer or perhaps a modern conception of the singer songwriter.

At Radio City Music Hall he delivered an excellent live show courtesy of a superb light show and his commitment to playing his largely electronic music live.

His latest album ‘The Colour of Anything’ produced by Rick Rubin no less, is a career high and it provided many of the highlights of this show. Tracks that previously I’d overlooked like ‘Modern Soul’ suddenly sparked into life and made me start listening to the album all over again, a sure sign that a live show has worked its magic.

Leave a Reply

